JeremyRedhead's "Totally Rad" Neo-Blog

Yea, I'm honestly not sure what I'll blog about either

corona-twitter life

what am i doing with my life
(the answer is nothing)

hello peoples of the NeoCities, hey hey hey, what is uuuup amirite? ow my finger hurts to type

the end of twitter

anyway i am sad b/c tomorrow the bird site shuts off their "legacy" version of the site, (the non-react one y'know?) and not only is the new one no better, but it will break this cool hack i made (and never used often enough)

It's (was) called The End of Twitter and what's it was was a simple lil' CSS trick to cut off the feed (main one or on a profile) after 15 tweets, with a weird silly passive-agressive emoji cowboy sheriff telling you that "you've reached the end of twitter".

ironically, for the last several months, i've had that user style disabled, preventing from reaping it's benefits, and saving my sanity from the miserable land of twitter

anyway, here's a github gist of the dang thing enjoy it for the last few seconds of ""legacy"" twitter if you can ;P

corona beer virus

oh sweet jesus that looks terrible. w/e i'll fix it later

So, yea. The coranovirus (COVID-19). It's bad. Yea. That's all I really have to say…

life

I have been feeling a bit depressed to be honest. I should really expound upon this, and I was going to do that in this post, but making that fake tweet above took more than an hour. Whoops.

yeah that's all for now. turns out i still exist regrettably

What's my problem?

hello. how is everyone else doing today? Oh, me? I'm just busy having a mental breakdown, don't mind me. :)) (why am i talking about this on neocities, you ask? — because i don't know where else. because i am ineffably broken. because… because)

currently listening to 2 Years of Failure (thank god for C418)

the site

so what's next for this site you might ask? (i haven't completely forgotten about it!)

well for one i still have a big ol' pile of writings to upload. and also… uhhh, other stuff. I don't even know at this point. Actually, I'm not quite sure if I ever will manage to upload anything ever again at this point.

I don't know where my life is headed… I don't know if posting under a public alias is wise… I don't know who I am anymore… I don't know why I am posting such a random blog post

Yeaaah I am definitely regretting this posting this. On so many levels. Ah well.

So Many Problems…

The "Blogging" Problem

I recently had an epiphany about why I'm struggling with blogging: The current meaning of the word "blog".

I've touched on this before in a previous blog post. My problem is that I am worrying too much trying to write my posts all professional-like on a single subject; the modern (read: corporate) style of "blogs".

But many early/traditional web logs are personal and don't stick necessarily stick to one subject in a "post". Tantek's 2002 log for example is written & styled in a way that makes distinguishing separate "posts" hard. The idea of separate posts (vs e.g. stream of consciousness) is an invented concept, ands seems harmful at least for me.

This is all a rather long and convoluted way of saying that calling this a "blog" and styling that way was a mistake. Shoulda called it a journal & ditched the <article> tags. Ah well.

My Sleep Problem

I've had a lot of trouble sleeping recently… All my life, really. But the web as of late has been very addictive for me. Actually, it's not really the web that's the problem, it's… IDK I can't think right now. More on this later when think more good (so, never ;P)

Yet Another Halloween Passes

Every year here on NeoCities, halloween comes around, and I see all the seasonal site decoration people put up, and I think to myself, "hey I should do that too!".

And then I procrastinate, wait too long, and forget. Ah well.

Happy Halloween! ;)

?? Blogging & Uploading

It's been a while since i've "blogged", and longer since i've uploaded anything of worth. (yes, i have that little regard for what i make)

I have no shortage of unfinished pages, half-written blog posts, and flaky ideas laying around.

But I always seem to get distracted; Distracted by some other unfinished page or post; distracted by endless twitter feeds; distracted by ancient "web logs" from the early 2000s, when the Semantic Web was new & hip, and bloggers critiqued other bloggers' hand-written html. (not to mention the 676 open tabs I've accumulated…)

And I also… I also have so many other thoughts, about blogging & writing & twitter & neocities & and a thousand other things, all slipping in&out of my head.

But enough about all that. I have meandered for long enough today. You, my dear reader, have suffered through my post thus-far, and deserve something succinct and substantial to nourish your soul. So, without furthrt ado, are some takeaways & stuff i'm working on:

Takeaways

(and by "takeaways", I mean "thoughts that just occurred to me)

Stuff I'm Working On

Anyways, that's all for now, I really need to go to sleep. (don't let the bed-bugs bite)

I Failed

I'm Such a Nerd

Hello, this is just quick update to tell you that I'm incompetant at web development apparently. I recently was browsing MDN & discovered that for..of loops are not supported in Internet Explorer…

Not only did this surprise me, but it made be feel real dumb, since I (thought I) had specifically coded navbar.js to be compatible with IE10+ but clearly I failed at research because it previously used a for..of loop

Anyway, I fixed that and also refactored that code in general. (BTW, here's what it looked like before if you're curious)

In Other News

I just recently downloaded and tried out NetSurf… It's OK, but very basic, and the controls are a little weird (I think because of being primarily for RISC OS & Amiga OS lol)

Korsse — now there's a cool neocity! Nothing in particular, I was just browsing the activity page and I like their site, it's good stuff. :> Lots of Hatsune Miku, heh. If ever I finish it I will add them to my links page.

…Speaking of creative & unfinished things, I really hoped I'm not doomed to only update this site's code in increasingly nitpicky ways & nothing else… I have a lot of unfinished pages lying around, and I swear I'm capable of being creative too…

Ok I gotta go to bed now or my dad will be upset. Have a good life and all that

So Small

The Night is Full of Life

The reason I'm writing a blog post at all today:

Tonight Last night while putting the chicken up, a little possum crawled onto the side of the coop, so I couldn't close the lid without crushing him. But the little guy was super freaked out and didn't know where to go, so we stood there a while.

Me holding the coop lid open, arms aching;
The chicken sitting on roost, waiting to sleep;
Lil possum clinging there, frozen & unsure.

A very awkward moment, made awkwarder when the light on the side of the house turned off, and I heard more rustling noises nearby.

Luckily the darkness seemed to embolden the lil fella, as I could just make out his shadowy visage finally slinking down the side of the coop.

In Other News

• I ran Ubuntu for a little bit on a live USB, laughed at the terrible chromium-based Ubuntu Browser.

• Took two hours typing this up on my PocketCHIP, because I thought it would be faster/less distracting.

• Wasted time in other ways, probably.

Okay, that's all I wanted to say.

FILL ME IN

I originally wrote this first section, and meant to post it, last week. whoops

Neocities is Art

So two months ago I was browsing the Neocities Activity page when I happened across combatbaby's blog, and the April 16th post about their site myspacebaby being displayed in Shapeshifters at the CAMH (Contemporary Arts Museum Houston).

I thought it would be really neat to go see it in person, and also view the other art being exhibited…

So naturally, I only managed to show up on the last day, but I did finally make it to the exhibit lol.

It was really cool! All of it, especially the website (it is definitely accentuated by the 2000s-era computer). I just wish I had any aesthetic skills or creativity, so that I could make geocities-style websites too.

Also, I noticed that the site was literally just open in an ordinary browser in fullscreen mode. I mean, what if someone were to stroll right up and just close the tab? Or the browser?? o_O

In Other News

I am trying to get back into the swing of things, by which I mean doing literally anything vaguely productive. :P I think I just need to stop trying to push out mega updates, and instead do one thing at a time.

Anyway, the next things on the hit-list include:

Also, I really should link to my Neocities profile on the index page news section since I'm doing a bad job of updating it, lol.

My dad is Something Else

Today in news you didn't want to hear

My dad just drank water from a dirty cup next to the sink. …But the cup wasn't just ordinary dirty; it had been used to wash off chicken eggs.

Note: We have a pet chicken, and we collect (and eat) the eggs.

This is how that makes me feel: 🤣 🤮

In other news

I have been, slowly but surely, working on my site. I've been working on fixing my CSS (yet again), and then I'll hopefully get around to my poetry. (and maybe even upload some photos?? we'll see…)

I plan to talk about the details, and many things more, when I get this major(?) site overhaul uploaded. I'll get it done before 2020. I swear. You can trust me… <-- that's a big lie, lol

Anyway, until then, uhm, have a good life I guess.

I started a Podcast(?)

Because I am so bad, I have started a Podcast. Well, "Podcast, sort of". Because I'm bored and updating this site (with my poetry) terrifies me. So Podcast instead!

Well, anyway, whatever. I don't have a Supporter Account (yet), so you can find the zeroth one on instaud.io. First one coming later, because it suddenly decided that my file is invalid, and I ain't got time for this.

Hopefully you find that mildly tolerable, and here's to hoping... for good things, or something.

Some Thoughts:

Little Things

So, here I am again. Writing yet another blog post late at night, when I should be sleeping, with little or no accompanying new uploads of content. (Probably many typos too)

Why, why am I up writing this? What for, why now, publish one of the dozens of blog post drafts instead, why don'tcha? Quite frankly, I don't know either. Wait, it's coming back to me

Of course!, the usual; some "new" reason for my FOP/lazy-work ethic/whatever, along with some sides of excuses, promises, and "wit" like this.

But this time it's different, I swear! So I suppose I should get on with it, then.

The small things

I live in Texas, so it would be natural for me, also, to be obsessed with bigness, right?

This update isn't big enough!, Just a blog post doesn't count!, This poem is too short, my brain screams at me, and more.

It also shrieks, nothing you write is good enough!, usually. Except not so often when its short poetry, it would seem. So maybe little bits of poetry is what I should upload, what I should focus on, even make a "career" out of.

That's all folks!

Like I said, I am writting this when I should be sleeping, prompted by thoughts in my head that popped out of the blue.

But maybe I should sweat the little things a bit more, and the bigs one a bit less, at least for writing, right now. Maybe I should just make little updates like this whenever, instead of compiling giant tiny behemoths of stress.

Oh, wait, I already said that below, like, a dozen times. Whatever. I'll get it, like, eventually (I hope).

Until next time

I suppose y'all deserve something, so I pulled this outta my sack of poems:

There is no pain, so sharp, I think,
as a quickly judging glance.
It leaves a scar hard to ignore;
the look of distaste in their eyes...

> P.S. RE: Bonus!

Also busy (attempting) merging my laptop and pc versions of both my wobsite & writing folders, which have d i v e r g e d

SO When your nerd friends say to use git, LISTEN TO THEM!!! (or, just like, use dropbox or whatever, i guess)

First Harvey & Now;

So,
it's been a while, eh?

You might be wondering, why haven't I updated in, like,
*checks profile page*
at least a month?

Here is my story...

Harvey

So, Harvey happened, y'know. It also happened to affect Houston, where I live. I bet you can see where this is going. My parents's house was fine during Katrina, so we weren't too worried, since there's no way it'll get higher, right?
Yeah, nope.

So the house flooded. A whole lotta stressful, chaotic stuff then happened. More on that... Someday, when my head isn't fuzzy, and I have more time on my hands.

The point is I was busy dealing witth all that, and just just just just just just jjjsutujsd dfsurtkuadrhg;hd;adfda

Just

Sorry about that. I (just) can't think straight anymore, (not that I could before), and everytime, everyhow I try to write this post, which is meant to be explantory with some minimal harvey-related info (more later, probs), I end up writing, and sounding... unnatural, fake, at least to me. Up to the just-splosion is as far ad I could make it without losing my mind.

Enough

Somewhere, somewhen, I have mentioned that I have fairly large backlog of ~~junk~~ writingss (also infinite photos but who doesn't), but none of it is ever good, or lengthy, or meaningful, enough (among other thinsgs).

But last night,
I had an epiphany after looking at Bill Wurtz's site; ~~I am the only person who can write good HTML/CSS~~ Just upload, whatever, whenever. If you constantly judge everything super critically, nothing will ever be good. (Like how I am with browsers, don't be like me kids)

So yea. That's why this update just consists of this broeken slightly blog post. Definitely not b/c I needed to leave somewhere quickly Like RiGHT NOW OH GOd GotttA GOOO AAAHHHH

FIN

The Little News Section

Woops, again

Okay, so, y'know the last (poorly named) update, "The Big Update"™...? It was supposed to have an accompanying blog post. (and if you've been reading my source code, no it's not the commented-out way mess below)

So, like everything that I write, (esp. bloggy- type junk like this), it was p much a trainwreck. And embarressing.

Although I might reveal it or some snippets thereof at some point, I'm not gonna do so right now. (also i'm writing this on the school mac, so I don't actually have it on me atm)

So what's this post about?

Good question!

*whispering to attendant* what is this post about again? "you're supposed to know that, sir!" well i forgot so just like, tell me or make one up "err, oaky sir, will do" [salute emoji]

This post is about the new news section and the lesson(s) it teaches us about updating! Obvisouly.

"Valuable" "Life" "Lessons"

For one, like, (probably) nobody likes clicking through (often literally) dozens of links just to read some old site news. Sure, it's sometimes neces- sary, but def not on my site.

So using a(n(?)) HTML checkbox, which are cool tbh, I used "CSS Sorcery"™, and magically did stuff. Just... go look at the source... oaky? (I'm very bad at explaining)

BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY! So, you see that there (published) blog post right below this one? That mentions other "neocityzens" just pushing out little updates most of the time? Yea. Just, do that, ME.

So the conclusion is...?

That I talk way too much! But really, don't be like me kids. Don't fret about the scope or complexity of yer next update. JUST DO IT! MAKE YOUR DREAMS COME HAPPENSTANCE!

Uhm, anyway, as always, more is coming soon. Well, eventually. When I feel like it. And actually have time on my hands. Peace [peace emoji]

(also wow i used a lotta abbr elements)

An Unclear Path

Short term memory

Hmm, so, where do I begin...? I have a lot on my mind. (For at least these couple seconds hours as I type out this meandaring ramble of a blog post) Uhhh... Shoot. I seem to have forgotten what was on my mind already, wow! Just a moment while I re-open some tabs...

A confession

Right, so, in all honesty I've kind of been ignoring my neocities, and... Hmm, how do I phrase this? I HAVE NO FREAKING IDEA WHAT I'M DOING. (Ignore the relatively modern design, I had help from all my web-dev friends in &xkcd) When I made this site, I had delusions of grandeur, involving creating and uploading lots and lots creative projects all the time, evolving my site to a degree of stylistic and accessibility perfection, commanding a huge zombie-like army of obsessive fans, and, uhm, I dunno. Probably other stuff. I got sidetracked researching the semantics of <s> vs <del>.

Insightful parallels

Just like the late network neighborhood (which I greatly admired), whose downfall might have seemed sudden due to its outward sheen, this slump partially stems from the ill-thought-out nature of my site, or at least my overbearing expectations for it. (Also, I haven't actually done much, also like the NN)

Revelation

However, the NN is not what led me to this revelation. Mainly, I'd been pondering over how sites such as Yudosai, Forgetmenots, and Joppiesaus all focused on updating their journals regularly, not their whole sites. But the catalyst was Strata's abandonment of their journal, or rather, their acceptance of said fact. Websites, and their focus, change. Sometimes, you just have to let go of your expectations.

Conclusion

So, above all, that's what I'll try to work on. Accepting that, yes, my site's going to continue to be a mess while I try to work out this "life" thing. And also uploading. I need to do that. Thanks for bearing with me. :)

Slow to Update

An old cliche

*sighs heavily and visibly* So, we meet again, my old enemy... Sleep! But, yes, just as many times before, it is very late at night as I am writing this, and frankly I don't feel like delving into the subtleties of such things as why my site's been slow to update.

I should think it needless to say that I'm having... 'issues' in my life right now that are plaguing me, and, honestly, that I should probably deal with before updating my site.

A promise

But I digress. Point is, I'll update this post with a thorough and exhaustive explanation tommorow. Well, ideally. But more likely several days later, at best, when I can organize and structure my thoughts easier. Until then, I hope you can enjoy this update as is.

A "prophecy" fulfilled

Soooo, yea, it took me a week, but— I've finally returned to update! :P

So, straight to business, there are quite a few reasons as to why I haven't been giving my site the attention it deserves, but mainly, I don't have my life well-organized, don't yet have a job nor source of income, and am also currently struggling in school.

A conclusion

This is why as much as I'd love to spend my every waking hour working on and adding stuff to this site, I simply cannot do so until I get my life & schoolwork in order, and then somehow acquire a revenue source as not to starve.

Luckily, the semester is coming to an end soon, so hopefully I'll be able to focus on my site a little more during the winter break.

Thank you so much for your patience. :)

F1rst Post!

A blog (and site update), finally.

Hullo! As you can see already, my site now has a blog! \o/ Exciting, right? Oaky maybe not terribly so, but at my current rate of updates, anything is good, right? :P

I'd like to say more it, but this update took all day and it's like midnight right now for me, so check back tommorow! Or later today, I guess... xP

Note: Below content added on later date

I've also added a news page, a new piece of writing, and have re-worked a bunch a html and css. I would've added more, but this update ended up taking pretty much all day.

If you've been following my site, you might be wondering: why has it been taking so long to update?? This is explained in the next post, above.